Skip to main content

Posts

Colorful Sparkling Glass Text Effect

This is a super easy tutorial that will show you how to use basic Filters and simple Layer styles to create a bright colorful glass text effect. The Final Result: Notes: * the software used in this tutorial is Adobe Photoshop CS6 , but you can use CS3+ versions as well. * you might want to check the Basix Page to see some useful topics on dealing with Photoshop basics, such as loading palettes and some shortcuts. Note: You might need to load the Contours used in the tutorial, so check this image to see how to do so. Step 1 - Create a new 1250 x 750 px document, fill the Background with Black, then duplicate the Background layer. - Set the Foreground and Background colors to Black and White, then go to Filter -> Render -> Fibers. Change the Variance to 20 and the Strength to 5. - Go to Filter -> Blur -> Motion Blur. Change the Angle to 90 and the Distance to 1000. - Change the Background copy layer’s Blend Mode to Linear Burn. This...

Photoshop and Illustrator to Create Guitar String Typography

Photoshop and Illustrator are great tools to help you create things that only exist in your imagination. In this tutorial, we will create words out of intertwining guitar strings. Let’s get started! Tutorial Assets The following assets were used during the production of this tutorial. Wood Texture 1. Create the Strings in Illustrator Step 1 We will start out in Illustrator. Create a New Document by going to File > New (Command/Ctrl + N). I used the following document size: Width set to 250 mm Height set to 175 mm Select the Line Segment Tool (\) , and while holding down Shift draw a horizontal line across the width of the document, somewhere in the top fourth of the page. Now set: Fill Color (X)  to none Stroke Weight  to 5 pt Cap  to Round Cap and  Corner  to Round Join Using the Rotate Tool (R) rotate the horizontal line by 11°. Using the Move Tool by going to Object > Transform > Move (Command/Ctrl + Shift + ...